Home Politics & Govt Best and worst performing female and Male MPs, Senators in Kenya

Best and worst performing female and Male MPs, Senators in Kenya

Photo- Kenya National Assembly, Parliament, in Session.

Members of Parliament, MPs, in Kenya are elected after five years during a General Election conducted by the electoral body; the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC). Roles of MPs include: discussing issues concerning common citizen, making national laws/ Legislation, check the executive arm of government and play an active role during budget making.

The roles of the National Assembly/ Parliament are:

(1) The National Assembly represents the people of the constituencies and special interests in the National Assembly.
(2) The National Assembly deliberates on and resolves issues of concern to the people.
(3) The National Assembly enacts legislation in accordance with Part 4 of this Chapter.
(4) The National Assembly —

(a) determines the allocation of national revenue between the levels of government, as provided in Part 4 of Chapter Twelve;
(b) appropriates funds for expenditure by the national government and other national State organs; and
(c) exercises oversight over national revenue and its expediture.

(5) The National Assembly–

(a) reviews the conduct in office of the President, the Deputy President and other State officers and initiates the process of removing them from office; and
(b) exercises oversight of State organs.

(6) The National Assembly approves declarations of war and extensions of states of emergency.

According to a research carried out recently by Mzalendo Organization which is Organization that tracks the activities of Kenyan Legislators, here is the ranking of the MPs:

Best young lawmakers

  1. Johnson Sakaja – Nairobi Senator
  2. Samson Cherargei – Nandi Senator
  3. Aaron Cheruiyot – Kericho Senator
  4. Ndindi Nyoro – Kiharu MP
  5. Didmus Barasa – Kimilili MP
  6. Kuria Kimani – Molo MP
  7. Naisula Lesuuda – Samburu West
  8. Silvanus Osoro – South Mugirango MP
  9. Catherine Waruguru – Laikipia County woman rep
  10. Tindi Mwale-Butere

10 worst performing senators

  1. Anwar Loitiptip (Lamu)
  2. Philip Mpaayei (Kajiado)
  3. Prengei Victor (Nominated)
  4. Falhada Dekow (Nominated)
  5. Christine Gona (Nominated)
  6. Millicent Omanga (Nominated)
  7. Mercy Chebeni (Nominated)
  8. Abdullahi Ibrahim (Wajir)
  9. Issa Juma Boy (Kwale)
  10. Gideon Moi (Baringo)

MPs who have never spoken in Parliament

  1. Jastus Kizito – Shinyalu
  2. Oscar Sudi – Kapseret
  3. James Wamucukuru – Kabete
  4. Alfred Sambu – Webuye East
  5. Joshua Adama – Nyakach
  6. Samuel Arama – Nakuru West
  7. Alex Kosgei – Emgwen
  8. Anab Mohamed – Garissa County
  9. Lilian Tomitom – West Pokot County
  10. Irene Kasalu – Kitui County
  11. Ane Wanjiku – Embu County
  12. Jane Chebai – Elgeyo Marakwet



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here