Two Kenyan teachers among 50 selected for prestigious Global Award. Winner to pocket about KShs. 100 Million

Global teacher prize

Two lucky teachers from Kenya have been selected, among 50 others from other countries, for the 2019 Global Teacher Prize award. Mr. Peter Tabichi and Mr. Maina Gioko were selected among the 50 finalists who shall be competing for the prestigious global award. The finalists were announced by the Global Teacher Prize organization, yesterday.

Mr. Maina Gioko  teaches Physics at Agha Khan academy in Mombasa. Mr Maina and his pupils carry out yearly deworming exercises around the school’s locality. He has , also, practically actualized his lessons on energy usage, where he has been able to influence his students to engage their parents to evaluate the energy consumption in their homes. This has led to some families changing to energy-saving bulbs and movement sensor or timer-controlled security lights. If awarded the Global Teacher Prize, he would develop a Pedagogy Resource Centre to try out new teaching ideas, as well as replicating evidence-based practices in other parts of the country through mentoring, print and online means.

On the other hand, Mr. Peter Tabichi plies his trade at Keriko Secondary School, Nakuru, Kenya. Keriko Mixed Day Secondary School is situated in Pwani Village, Nakuru County.

Peter’s effect on the school has been twofold. First, since the school has students who come from a number of different religions, Peter had to find a way of uniting them in order to overcome their religious differences. So he designed a common programme for conducting prayers and worship during assembly days, with students from different religious groups having equal time to run the programme. Second, Peter introduced a Talent Nurturing Club and expanded the existing school Science Club. 60% of the students’ projects subsequently qualified for the Kenya Science and Engineering Fair (KSEF) 2018 – where the school emerged the best in the public schools category – and the Mathematical Science team has qualified to participate at the INTEL International Science and Engineering Fair 2019 in Arizona. Peter has also pioneered ways to increase the availability of teaching, such as recording videos of lessons for digital reproduction.

If awarded the Global Teacher Prize, Peter would use the money to promote and expand the Talent Nurturing Club, the Science Club and Inter-School Science Project Competitions. He would also invest in a school computer lab with better Internet connectivity. In the community, he plans to start an agricultural project that focuses on promotion of kitchen gardens and production of drought tolerant crops; he will also identify a few bright and needy students within the community to ensure that they get the support they need to pursue quality further education.

The Global Teacher Prize serves to underline the importance of educators and the fact that, throughout the world, their efforts deserve to be recognized and celebrated. It seeks to acknowledge the impacts of the very best teachers – not only on their students but on the communities around them.

Read more details here:

The winner will pocket a cash prize of One Million US Dollars (About 1 billion Kenyan Shillings)

Here is the full list of the 50 Finalists:
-Andrew Moffat; United Kingdom
-Anne Fischer; France
-Arti Qanungo; India
-Assante Ndiaye; Senegal
-Brian Macdaniel; USA
-Charif Hamidi; Morocco
-Chifuntro M'Manga Kamwendo; Malawi
-Christoph Schiebold; Belgium
-Daisy Mertens; Netherlands
-Dario Victor Greni Olivieri; Uruguay
-Debora Garofalo; Brazil
-Emma Russo United Kingdom
-Eric Crouch; USA
-Felipe Ramirez; Chile
-Ghassan Antoun; Lebanon
-Giuseppe Paschetto; Italy
-Hidekazu Shoto; Japan
-Hikmah Mulia Dewa; Indonesia
-Ian Forgaty; Canada
-James Liniville; Somalia
-Jayse Ferreira; Brazil
-Jimmy Rotheram; United Kingdom
-Jose Jorge Teixeira; Portugal
-Katarina Veljkovic; Serbia
- Liljana Luani; Albania
-Luis Emiro Ramirez Gomez; Colombia
-Magdalena Dygala; Poland
-Maina Gioko; Kenya
-Maria Christina Gomez; Argentina
-Martin Salvetti; Argentina
-Melissa Salguero; USA
-Muhamad Khairul Annuar Bin Hussin; Malaysia
-Ourania Lampou; Greece
-Peter Gurrier Jones; Australia
-Peter Tabichi; Kenya
-Rana Ziada; Palestine
-Rashed Hashem; UAE
-Robert Gbari Gariba; Ghana
-Rowaida Al Jariri; Jordan
- Samet Baskonus- Turkey
-Sean Robinson; Canada
-Shamser Bahadur Thapa; Nepal
-Soji Megbowon; Nigeria
-Swaroop Rawal; India
- Thejane Malakane; Lesotho
-Thuy Tran; Vietnam
- Venus Alboruto; Phillipines
-Vladimer Apkhasava; Georgia
-Yasodai Selvakumaran; Australia
-Yu Shuming; China

Apply for the Global Teacher Prize Competition Today


East Africa Secondary Schools’ ( FEASSSA) games past winners



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here