KSSSA Chairman, Peter Orero; second right, Secretary General, Divid Ngugi; third from right, and Treasurer, Kariuki Gekonyo; second left, pose for a photo after receiving the SOYA trophy for the best Federation .jpg (Photo Courtesy)

KSSSA, Kwale girls reap big at this year’s SOYA gala; full details

The Kenya Secondary Schools Sports association emerged the top Sports Personality of the Year, SOYA, Federation of the Year for 2018. The Secondary schools’ sports outfit recorded impressive mile stones in 2018 to emerge top at the Safaricom sponsored event which was held at Fort Jesus in Mombasa on Friday night.

KSSSA led the country’s successful title defence campaign that saw Kenyan teams dominate the regional games in Musanze, Rwanda, where they retained the overall title. The country’s boys and girls soccer teams also won gold at the Africa Copa Coca Cola soccer Championship held in Nakuru, Kenya.

They also ensured Kenya joined the Africa Secondary Schools Sports Association body and also the World Secondary Schools Sports Association, guaranteeing participation in international events starting 2019.

KSSSA also renewed a five-year sponsorship deal for the national Term One Games and East Africa Games with key partner Brookside Dairy Limited.

KSSSA dethroned 2017 winners, Athletics Kenya, who finished runners up.


Kwale Girls who won their first national football title in their second appearance at the top level in the country and went on to make it a double by winning the East Africa trophy, were announced winners in the SOYA Girls’ School of the Year category. Their tactician, Mukasa Amboko, and captain, Elizabeth Kioko, won in the School coach and Most outstanding Girls’ player of the year categories, respectively.

The ceremony was graced by Sports Cabinet secretary, Hillary Echesa, and Mombasa governor, Ali Hassan Joho.

The boys’ Safaricom SOYA school team of the year was won by Laiser Hill. Laiser Hill were crowned the 2018 basketball champions at the national Term One games held in Kangaru School, Embu, beating newbies Sigalame who went on to finish seventh at the regional games. The school’s rugby sevens team reclaimed the title at the national games held at Eldoret’s Hill School before clinching the EA title in Rwanda.


Overall Sports Personality of the Year:

Eliud Kipchoge- Athletics

Sportsman of the year

1.Eliud Kipchoge (athletics)

2. Elijah Manangoi (athletics)

3. Willy Ambaka (Rugby)

Sports woman of the year

1.Beatrice Chepkoech (athletics)

2. Hellen Obiri (athletics)

3. Janet ‘Shebesh’ Okello (kenya Lionesses)

Sports Team of the year (Men)

1.Harambee Stars

2. Gor Mahia FC

3. Davis Cup Team (Tennis)

Sports Team of the year (Women)

1. Telkom Kenya hockey team

2. Kenya Lionesses

3. Equity Bank Basketball

Coach of the year:

1.Rosemary Awino (Tennis)

2. Kevin Wambua (Kenya Lionesses)

3. Jos Openda (Telkom Kenya women’s Hockey)

Sports Federation of the Year

1. Kenya Secondary School Sports Association- KSSSA

2. Athletics Kenya

3. Football Kenya Federation

Sportsman of the year living with disability 

1.Dickson Onduari (handball)

2. Peter Munuve (Wheelchair tennis)

3. Daniel Kiptum (Deaflympics)

Sportswoman of the year living with disability 

1.Jane Ndegwa (wheelchair tennis)

2. Michelle Kahindi (football)

3. Caroline Wanjira (athletics)

Most promising Sports Personality (Girls)

1. Angela Okutoyi (Lawn tennis)

2. Beatrice Chebet (Athletics)

3. Maria Bruhneiller (Swimming)

Most promising Sports Personality (Boys)

1.Edward Zakayo (Athletics)

2. Rhonex Kipruto (Athletics)

3. Carlos Ochieng (Judo)

School coach of the year:

1. Mukasa Amboko (Kwale Girls football)

2. Justin Kigwari (Kwanthanze Girls (Volleyball)

3. Kevin Lugalia (St Anthony Hockey/Youth Olympics)

School team of the year (boys):

1. Laiser Hill School (Rugby team)

2. Upper Hill High School (Rugby)

3. St Anthony’s Boys, Kitale (Hockey)

School team of the year (girls):

1.Kwale Girls (Football)

2. Trans Nzoia Mixed (Hockey)

3. Kwanthanze Girls (Volleyball)

Most oustanding players (boys)

1.Albert Njogu (Tennis)

2.Shadrack Kiptoo (Badminton)

3. Emmanuel Ndonga (Swimming)

Most oustanding players (girls)

1.Elizabeth Kioko (Kwale Girls’ captain, football)

2. Roselyn Asumwa (Tennis)

3. Esther Mutinda (Volleyball- Kwathanze)

Community award:

Lawrence Karanja (Tennis)

Hall of fame: 

  1. Mohammed Kheri (football),
  2. Rose Tata Muya (Athletics)
Posted in KSSSA Portal and tagged , , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *