NASA cracks the whip on 16 MPs who refused to support Uhuru’s VAT bill

NASA logo
NASA logo

The National Super Alliance, NASA, has cracked the whip on 16 Members of parliament who defied the coalition’s position in the National assembly to support President Uhuru Kenyatta’s memorandum on the finance bill of 2018 that has since been signed into law. In a letter to national assembly speaker, Hon. Justin Muturi, minority whip Junet Mohammed has removed Hon. Opiyo Wandayi from the Agriculture and Livestock committee. Also de-whipped is Hon. TJ Kwajwang who has been removed from the constitution and oversight committee, Justus Kizito from the National security committee. Others facing removal are: Gideon Mulyungi from the Public investments committee, Tindo Mwale from the Public investments committee, Christopher Asike from the Budget and appropriations committee.

Abdulswamad Shariff, Catherine Wabilyanga and Mohamed Lokiro have been axed from the Delegated Legislations, Services & Facilities and the National Cohesion committees, respectively. Also axed are Bunyasi Sakwa (Public accounts), Charles Mose (Delegated Legislations), Silvance Osoro (Defence and Foreign relations) and James Mukwe (Constituency Development Fund).

To complete the long list are: Makali Mulu who loses the Selection committee slot, Alfred Sambu who has been removed from the Finance and National planning committee and Ferdinand Wanyonyi who will no longer sit in the Trade, Industry and Cooperatives committee. The axed Legislators vehemently refused to endorse president Uhuru’s VAT amendments but which were controversially passed in parliament, few weeks ago. The latest move could bring more trouble at the NASA coalition with a section of Legislatures warming up towards the deputy president’s 2022 presidential bid.

You may also like:

ODM Party’s Disciplinary Committee Summons 10 Members over gross misconduct



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here