The government of Kenya through the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection is set to introduce a new payment model to migrate away from the current cash payments. The new initiative that runs from today, Monday 26th November, to 21st December 2018 will see the over 710,000 beneficiaries open new bank accounts.

“The Government, through the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection, is rolling out the New Inua Jamii payment model known as ‘Choice Model’ targeting 710,000 beneficiaries who have been receiving cash transfer stipends,” reads, in part, a presser from the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection.

The government has partnered with a number of local banks to ensure easy processing and payments of the stipends. “The ‘Choice Model’ involves opening bank accounts for the Orphans and Vulnerable Children (CT-OVC), Older Personal Cash Transfer (OPCT) and Persons with Severe Disabilities Cash Transfer (PWSD) Programmes,” adds the memo.

The registration exercise that runs between 26th November 2018 and 21st December 2018, will see the beneficiaries open bank accounts with the following contracted banks: Cooperative Bank, Equity Bank Limited, Kenya Commercial Bank and Postbank. The beneficiaries in the programme and the caregivers must carry with them their National Identity Cards; and present themselves at the various enrollment centres across the country. The official launching of the exercise shall be held today, the 26th November 2018.

Below is the detailed registration schedule:
No Region Counties Dates
1 Lower Rift Valley Bomet, Kajiado, Kericho, Laikipia, Nakuru, Narok and Baringo. 26/11/2018 to 28/11/2018
2 Upper Rift Valley Nandi, Elgeyo Marakwet, Trans Nzoia, Uasin Gishu, Turkana, West Pokot and Samburu 29/11/2018 to 01/12/2018
3 Western Bungoma, Busia, Kakamega and Vihiga 03/12/2018 to 05/12/2018
4 Nyanza Homa Bay, Kisii, Kisumu, Migori, Nyamira and Siaya 06/12/2018 to 08/12/2018
5 Central Kiambu, Kirinyaga, Nyandarua, Nyeri and Murang’a 10/12/2018 to 13/12/2018
6 North Eastern Mandera, Wajir and Garissa 14/12/2018 to 15/12/2018
7 Coast Kwale, Lamu, Mombasa, Kilifi, Taita Taveta and Tana River 17/12/2018 to 19/12/2018
8 Eastern Isiolo, Kitui, Machakos, Makueni, Marsabit, Meru, Tharaka Nithi and Embu 20/12/2018 to 22/12/2018
9 Nairobi Nairobi 17/12/2018 to 22/12/2018


Inua jamii cash transfer programme in Kenya.jpg
Inua jamii cash transfer programme in Kenya