KBC to Stream live action from the Safari 7’s Rugby tournament, as World Rugby releases Dubai World 7’s pooling

KBC to air Safari Sevens live

The Kenya Broadcasting Corporation will be the official television broadcasters for the twenty second edition of the Safari Sevens which takes place from 9th to 11th November at its inaugural venue, the RFUEA Ground. The national broadcaster will air the tournament live on its free to air TV channel.

Played every year since 1996, the tournament returns to the RFUEA Ground after an eight year hiatus that saw it move to the Nyayo and Kasarani Stadiums in the intervening years.

This year’s tournament will involve a 12 team top tier category as well as subsidiary age grade and veterans competitions.

Tournament organizers are expected to release the full list of confirmed teams as well playing schedules in the coming days.


Elsewhere, The 2018/2019 HSBC World Sevens Series kicks off on the 29th of November with the Dubai7s. World Rugby have this evening released the Pools with Shujaa featuring in Pool B alongside Fiji, Scotland and France.

Pool A holds South Africa, Argentina, Samoa and the invitational team, Pool C sees New Zealand battle it out on day one with USA, Spain and Wales while Pool D hosts Australia, England, Canada and Japan.

Fiji finished second in the 2017/2018 season with a total of 180 points two points behind the overall champions, South Africa who had a total of 182 points.

Shujaa finished eighth overall with 104 points, the highest points Kenya has ever gathered since their inception into the HSBC Series. The team has already started training under the new technical team led by Paul Murunga and Kevin Wambua.

(Courtesy of KRU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here