Interior Cabinet Secretary names new Fire Arms Licencing Board Members

File Photo-CS Fred Matiang'i
File Photo-CS Fred Matiang'i

Interior Cabinet Secretary, Dr.  Fred Matiang’i, has named new members to the Firearms Licensing Board.

In a gazette notice issued on Wednesday (28th November 2018), Matiang’i appointed the seven members who will serve for three years, with effect from 3rd December 2018.

The CS disbanded the board last Friday citing corruption and incompetence, leading to guns being in illegal hands.
He also suspended all firearms dealers’ licences until they are vetted afresh.
Charles Mwongera Mukindia will serve as the new board chairman.

Other newly appointed members are: David Kahinga, Jackson Kimutai Rotich, Vincent Wahoro, Nancy Kabele, Justin Odhiambo and Lazarus Mbondo.

The new team has been tasked to curb the increased proliferation of unlicensed gun ownership and use by private Citizens.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here