CAF confirms Kenya and Ghana will qualify for AFCON finals, next year, from group F

Harambee Stars' squad
Harambee Stars' squad

The Confederation of African Football, CAF, has written to confirm that two teams will qualify from Group F to next year’s Africa Cup Of Nations, AFCON, finals. There were concerns that group F may produce one team to AFCON finals after the ouster of Sierra Leone if the new host, most likely South Africa, fails to qualify. This was informed by the decision by CAF to strip Cameroon of rights to host next year’s AFCON finals, Cameroon has already qualified after playing the qualifiers.

“We take this opportunity to stress the fact that even though the group (F) is consisted of 3 teams, the 2 highest ranked teams of the group at the end of the qualifying phase shall qualify to the final tournament of the Total 2019 Cup of Nations,” reads a CAF memo by Anthony Baffoe, CAF Deputy General Secretary, dated 5th December- 2018.

There were reports that group F would produce only one team to AFCON finals if the new host fails to make it to the finals, after the qualifiers. This means whichever way the result of the final qualifier would be, pitting Ghana against Kenya, Kenya’s Harambee Stars will still qualify. Kenya plays Ghana, away, in the final qualifier match next year. The other team in Group F, Ethiopia, is automatically out of contention for the 2 slots since they only have one point and no match to play.

Below, the memo by CAF:


Related content:

South Africa may be given rights to host AFCON Finals slated for next year



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here